The Children Act
The Children Act
Book for October 2016
Group 3
A High Court Judge specialized in Family Law is called on to rule in the case of a seventeen year old boy. For religious reasons the boy refuses a medical treatment that could save his life. His parents support his decision. While the book explores the question of what is just and what is not, the life of the judge and the boy become entangled.
About the Author
Ian McEwan
Ian McEwan, born 21 June 1948, is a British novelist and screenwriter, and one of Britain's most highly regarded writers. In 2008, The Times named him among their list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945". McEwan began his career writing sparse, Gothic short stories. The Cement Garden (1978) and The Comfort of Strangers (1981) were his first two novels, and earned him the nickname "Ian Macabre". These were followed by three novels of some success in the 1980s and early 1990s. In 1997, he published Enduring Love, which was made into a film. He won the Man Booker Prize with Amsterdam (1998). In 2011, he was awarded the Jerusalem Prize. In 2001, he published Atonement, which was made into an Oscar-winning film. This was followed by Saturday (2003), On Chesil Beach (2007) and Solar (2010).

Other books we've read by the same author:

Machines Like Me